New AB members

The WTO Dispute Settlement Body (DSB) appointed on 19 June 2009 the following two new members to the seven-member Appellate Body: Mr Ricardo Ramírez Hernández of Mexico for four years commencing on 1 July 2009 and Mr Peter Van den Bossche of the EC for four years commencing on 12 December 2009. The two replace Luiz Olavo Baptista, who resigned owing to health reasons with effect from 11 February 2009, and Giorgio Sacerdoti, whose second and final term expires on 11 December 2009. For profiles of the two new members, click here and here. The DSB also agreed to reappoint David Unterhalter for a second four-year term starting on 12 December 2009.